Thursday, August 4, 2011

2nd Book Club Selection: Catching Fire, by Suzanne Collins


     Catching Fire, is the second installment of The Hunger Games Trilogy, by Suzanne Collins. As the sequel to the 2008 bestseller The Hunger Games (My 1st Book Club Selection), it continues the story of Katniss Everdeen and the fictional, futuristic nation of Panem. Due to the events of the previous novel, a rebellion against the ruling Capitol has begun, and Katniss and fellow tribute Peeta are forced to return to the arena in a special edition of the The Hunger Games.
    The book was released September 1, 2009, and was later released in eBook and audiobook format. Major themes include survival, government control, rebellion and interdependence vs. independence. Catching Fire has received mostly positive reviews. Reviewers praised the prose, the ending, and how Katniss became more sophisticated.

    I can't wait to get started on this selection. I hope some of you will join me in reading it. Feel free to post your comments on the book below, as well as any future book club selections you wish to share.


    Well I finished the second book in record time. It was an easy read, but captivating nonetheless. Now I'm moving on the the third and last installment of The Hunger Games TrilogyMockingjay.

You may also like:
The Hunger Games, by Suzanne Collins (1st Book Club Selection)
Mockingjay, by Suzanne Collins (3rd Book Club Selection)

No comments:

Post a Comment